Fail to boot user image with >2 BRAMs

I have a Simple Design that seems to break when changing almost any part of the Verilog or pin mapping.

Most changes to the design seem to cause the user image to fail booting. I have narrowed it down to the amount of BRAMs I am using.

If I use 2x then the image works, if I use 1x then the image fails. If i use more than 2x then the image also fails. This can be observed by the user_led hanging at a dim brightness.

You can tell for yourself using the code here:

When ROMDEPTH is set to 512 the design boots successfully. Changing ROMDEPTH to any number >512 causes the image to fail. Changing ROMDEPTH to any number <=256 causes it to fail aswell. This corresponds the the number of BRAMs allocated by arachne-pnr…

Note that this design does not boot at all when using nextpnr.

Any tips would help a lot. I have a feeling my clock domain may be interfering with LUTs accessing the BRAMs but I’m not experienced enough to say decidedly.

You have some unconstrained pins in your design, such as GBACART_CS2. This is never a good idea even if they are unused as it could cause unpredictable behaviour, and should be an error in nextpnr. I’m not sure if this is actually the problem though.

To debug this further, I would try and narrow down where it is failing. First try connecting the user LED to a constant 1’b1, so it should always be lit if the design boots correctly. Then perhaps connect it to a counter and check that the counter blinks.

You are doing strange things with the usb pins, which could be a problem. If you are not using usb, you should set pin_pu = 0 and not use the other usb pins.

Changing to pin_pu = 1' b0 actually helped things a lot. I am now able to remove the unconstrained pins from my top module and increase the rom size at will (all the way up to 8912 words, 32 BRAMs)