How to add alternative boot source (not USB cable)

Hi all, I’m quite new at this, but would like to know the basic steps for how to boot from an image located on a different memory device (such as eeprom or fram chip).

Where are some good resources to find out how to do this for the Bx?

This is not particularly easy to do on the Bx.

The TinyFPGA Bx has a warm boot configuration at the start of its flash memory. This was created using the icestorm, icemulti tool.

The way that works is that at power-on, the ice40 reads the warm boot configuration and is told that the boot image is at address 0xa0. The image at 0xa0 is the TinyFPGA BX bootloader. That reads commands from the USB connection and then boots to the user image, which is at address 0x28000, using SB_WARMBOOT.

To do what you want, you will probably need to replace that warm boot image with a different one. If you are going to do that you really need an SPI programmer with its leads soldered to the SPI pads on the underside of the Bx. Without such an SPI programmer, you effectively get one go at replacing the warm boot configuration, and if you fail, your Bx is effectively bricked and can only be recovered using an SPI programmer.

I implemented a system that boots from an image on an SD card, and that needed a new warm boot configuration, see - PicoSoC using only BRAM

There are a few diiferent approaches you can take to how to boot from an image from a different source. One is to completely replace the TinyFPGA BX bootloader. If you do that you will lose the capability to boot from USB.

Another approach is to modify the bootloader and add a command to boot from another source, but the bootloader is complex and not very easy to change.

A third approach is to keep the bootloader as it is and let it boot to the user image, and do the work in the user image. That is the approach I took.