Is it possible to assign 16Mhz CLK to PIN_1 using TinyFPGA BX (and VHDL)

I am new to TinyFPGA, but have worked a little with FPGAs in the past, a few years ago.

I am using yosys and ghdl with the tinyfpga BX

The TingFPGA BX works perfectly with ghdl and yosys for basic cases, blink, etc…

However, when I try more advance cases, its not working as I’d expect, in this case Im trying to send a 16MHz clock out PIN_1.

Im not sure if
a ) it is not posible to assign 16Mhz CLK to PIN_1 with this fpga
b ) I have implemented the vhdl incorrectly / should be syncronous process
c ) tinyfpga and vhdl don’t work so nicely together / unsupported

Unfortunately I have been unable to get APIO and/or verilog working yet, to test using verilog…

Really appreciate any insight you could share, thank you.

Would you expect this to work on TinyFPGA? VHDL looks like this:
// all files saved to this github gist: https://gist.github.com/newdigate/897481d3c70e83c7e2bd61e8b122c031#file-simple_clk_top-vhdl

library ieee;
use ieee.std_logic_1164.all;
use ieee.numeric_std.all;

entity simple_clk_top IS
port (
CLK : in std_logic;
PIN_1 : out std_logic;
USBPU : out std_logic;
LED : out std_logic
);
end entity;

architecture Behavioral of simple_clk_top IS
begin
PIN_1 <= CLK;
USBPU <= ‘0’;
LED <= ‘1’;
end Behavioral;

Hi Moolet, I can’t help you with your VHDL issues as I use Verilog, but I just went through setting up Atom/apio IDE so can help you with that. What happens when you try and use apio?

Hi Duncan,

thanks for your response, very much appreciated…

When I start Atom, I’m getting an error message which says “required APIO version >= 0.3.0<0.4”. I’m using apio version 0.5.4, perhaps I need to downgrade apio…

Im using Macos catalina.