Simple first code for BX

Greetings!

I have been fantasizing about getting into FPGAs for a couple years and once I found out about the TinyFPGA my fate was sealed. I purchased the BX and got it up and running.

I am attaching very simple verilog code I wrote that turns on the LED when voltage is applied at PIN_1. Also attached is my circuit diagram. I feel this board is a great intro board for FPGAs, but it is really hard for me to find noob level projects and examples. I’d love any pointers or links to good instructions.switch-led

// look in pins.pcf for all the pin names on the TinyFPGA BX board

module top (

input CLK,    // 16MHz clock

input PIN_1,  // First PIN on board

output LED,   // User/boot LED next to power LED

output USBPU  // USB pull-up resistor

);

// drive USB pull-up resistor to '0' to disable USB

assign USBPU = 0;

reg ledon; //register ledon

always @(posedge CLK) //whenever clock goes from 0 to 1

if (PIN_1) begin

ledon <= 1;

end else begin

ledon <= 0;

end

assign LED = ledon; //light up the led with state of register

endmodule

Nice one! :). I’m sure most (if not all) people here have been through the “make LED turn on” phase of our learning journey :slight_smile: It’s always a thrill getting something to work in an “alien” environment :).

What sort of projects are you looking for? What is your general level of experience / background?

At the moment your LED is switched on based on one of the external inputs of the FPGA. If you want some ideas for things to try next, here are a few thoughts (I’m happy to help with hints if you get stuck):

• maybe you could try to make your switch toggle the state of the LED rather than have the LED follow what the switch is doing. What sort of issues do you think you might come across here?
  • maybe you could try to make the LED turn itself on and off automatically based on the clock input. Pick a frequency (eg. 1.5Hz) and see if you can get the LED flashing at that frequency.