Why "drive USB pull-up resistor to '0' to disable USB"?

Hi there. I’m fairly new to FPGA, and I find the following lines in the template code is a little confusing.

// drive USB pull-up resistor to '0' to disable USB
assign USBPU = 0;

Why do we need to explicitly disable USB? I mean, if we don’t need USB connectivity, we can simply ignore it, right?

In addition, I would appreciate it if somebody can explain to me how does driving a pull-up resistor to ‘0’ disable USB. Thanks in advance!

UPDATE: See the end for WHY you disable USB.

Here’s the HOW:

For what that USB_PU line does, let’s take a look at the schematic:

TinyFPGA_BX_USB

We see the USB D+ line is connected via a 1.5K resistor to USB_PU. Per the USB spec (as described in the Speed Identification section here), if you pull the D+ line to 3.3V (in this case by setting USB_PU to ‘1’), you’re telling the USB host that there’s a USB device present (thus enabling all the handshaking and enumeration that follows).

If you pull D+ low by setting USB_PU to ‘0’ (or ground), you’re signaling there is no (longer) a USB device connected.

(Edit upon edits later…) And if you pore over the page linked above, you’ll see mention of how D- can be used to identify a low speed device. But since D- doesn’t have a pull-up resistor, you don’t have to worry about pulling that line low at all - only the D+ line matters here since the TinyFPGA only identifies as high-speed.

Now for WHY: